30 SECONDS By Tammy Glover

“When you lie down, you will not be afraid; when you lie down, your sleep will be sweet. Have no fear of sudden disaster or of the ruin that overtakes the wicked, for the Lord will be your confidence.” Proverbs 3: 24-26 NIV

I can’t believe you woke me up in the middle of the night again. Despite how precious my time is, you continue to waste it. Every time I try to do something positive, here you come, rearing your ugly head. I’m not worried about hurting your feelings anymore because you’ve never been concerned about hurting mine, which you constantly do. Uninvited guests wear out their welcome mighty quick and you’ve been allowed to stay for far too long.

You have thirty seconds to get your things and leave. That’s right, just thirty seconds to get your worries. I’m tired of them waking me up. Thirty seconds to get your doubt. I’m tired of tripping over it when I walk out the door. Thirty seconds to get your chaos. I’m tired of looking at it in my house, on my street and at my job.

You’re making me sick, literally. My head hurts. My stomach is in knots. My blood pressure and my sugar are high. I’m exhausted. Why did I ever let you in here? You make me want to scream and pull my hair out.

Listen to me when I’m talking to you and wipe that smirk off your face! Fear, you have thirty seconds to go. I talk to a friend of mine, you may have heard of him. His name is Jesus. He told me that I don’t have to be afraid of you anymore. He told me that he came so that I can enjoy my life. I don’t have to be chained to you anymore. He said all things are possible with him. Remember all those times you said I couldn’t? I know you lied now. He told me to cast all my worries on him. He’ll provide for all my needs. He’ll advise me on what to do. He’ll comfort me. He’ll protect me. I don’t need you anymore, Fear. I just need for you to go. Love is here now. The clock is ticking. Remember, you only have thirty seconds. One, two, three…wait, you’re moving too slowly. I’m afraid you’re going to have to go now.

Oh what, you’re upset because I lied about you having thirty seconds? You’ve been lying to me all my life. Oh, I almost forgot to tell you, if I see you around here again or if I see you moving in on my family, friends, coworkers or enemies, I’m telling Jesus. You have to answer to him now. Goodbye!

“Now may the Lord of peace himself give you peace at all times and in every way. The Lord be with all of you.” 2 Thessalonians 3: 16 NIV

3 thoughts on “30 SECONDS By Tammy Glover

Leave a Reply

